Visa Waiver Program Improvement and Terrorist Travel Prevention Act of 2015

December 7, 2015
December 7, 2015
Referred to Senate (sub)committee

Like similar measure H.R. 158 of 1/6/15, this bill would block visa-free entry to the U.S. for passport-holders of the Visa Waiver Program’s 38 participating countries if they hold dual citizenship with or have traveled, since 3/2011, to Iraq, Syria, or other countries determined by the secretary of state to be ‘safe haven[s]’ for terrorists, home to significant terrorist activity, as well as countries that if visited could increase a person’s likelihood of becoming a ‘credible threat’ to the U.S. The unnamed countries would presumably include Iran and Sudan.

Inter alia, the bill would also require the 38 Visa Waiver Program countries to perform checks against Interpol databases on passport-holders hoping to travel to the U.S. and to start issuing ‘e-passports,’ which would allow the Dept. of Homeland Security (DHS) to check biometric and biographic information. The DHS would be authorized to disqualify any member-state that does not adequately comply with the program’s new components.

2 cosponsors (2R).

Last major action: 12/7/15 referred to Senate Comm. on the Judiciary.

More info

For more information, Click Here to visit this measure’s page at

Legislation Topics