Iran, North Korea, and Syria Nonproliferation Accountability Act of 2013

February 28, 2013
April 8, 2013
Referred to House (sub)committee

This bill contains a variety of measures designed to stifle the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, specifically targeting Iran, Syria, and North Korea. The most noteworthy stipulation would direct the president to impose sanctions on any person or organization that transfers certain nuclear, dual use, toxic, or chemical devices to Iran, Syria, and North Korea, or that acquires such devices from them. The sanctions would last 2 years and affect any person/organization making such transfers since 2007.

The bill would also stop any funding in connection with the International Space Station (ISS) and to the Russian Aviation and Space Agency unless the president could certify that Russia was not transferring such weapons to Syria, Iran, or North Korea. The president could make an exception for the safety of individuals on board the ISS.

Furthermore, it would ban any ship from entering a U.S. port if it had any connection to the nuclear programs of the countries cited or if it had been to a port with known connections to those programs in the previous 180 days.

15 cosponsors (14R, 1D).

Last major action: 4/8/13 referred to House Subcmte. on Immigration and Border Security.

More info

For more information, Click Here to visit this measure’s page at

Legislation Topics