Expressing support for the appointment of former Senator George Mitchell as Special Envoy for Middle East Peace

February 4, 2009
February 4, 2009
Referred to House (sub)committee

105 cosponsors.

Would express Congress’ commitment to supporting a “vigorous pursuit of a diplomatic resolution to the Israeli-Palestinian and Israeli-Arab conflicts based the establishment of 2 states, the State of Israel and Palestine, living side by side in peace and security, and with recognized borders.” Reaffirms that peace between Israel, the Palestinians, and the Arab world are “essential national security interests” of the U.S. Expresses appreciation to those engaged in support of “Middle East peacemaking and the recent cessation of hostilities in the Gaza Strip and southern Israel” [referring to Operation Cast Lead lasting from 12/26/09 to 1/18/09, see JPS 151 for details], and calls on the international community to “aggressively pursue efforts that facilitate a just and lasting resolution of these conflicts.”

See also: related measures S. Res. 6 of 1/6/09, H. Res. 34 and S. Res. 10 both of 1/8/09, H. Res. 37 of 1/9/09, H. Res. 66 of 1/15/09, and H. Res. 867 of 10/23/09.


Neil Abercrombie(D-HI)Jason Altmire(D-PA)Brian Baird(D-WA)Tammy Baldwin(D-WI)Timothy Bishop(D-)Earl Blumenauer(D-OR)Charles Jr Boustany(R-LA)Robert Brady(D-PA)Bruce Braley(D-IA)Lois Capps(D-CA)Michael Capuano(D-MA)Andre Carson(D-IN)Travis Childers(D-MS)Yvette Clarke(D-)William Clay Jr(D-MO)Stephen Cohen(D-TN)Gerry Connolly(D-VA)John Conyers Jr(D-MI)Jim Costa(D-CA)Joe Courtney(D-CT)Danny Davis(D-IL)Peter DeFazio(D-OR)Rosa Delauro(D-CT)John Dingell(D-MI)Lloyd Doggett(D-TX)Mike Doyle(D-PA)Donna Edwards(D-MD)Keith Ellison(D-MN)Anna Eshoo(D-CA)Sam Farr(D-CA)Chaka Fattah(D-PA)Bob Filner(D-CA)Jeffrey Lane Fortenberry(R-NE)Bill Foster(D-IL)Barney Frank(D-MA)Marcia Fudge(D-OH)Bart Gordon(D-TN)Raul Grijalva(D-AZ)Debbie Halvorson(D-IL)Baron Hill(D-IN)Maurice Hinchey(D-)Ruben Hinojosa(D-TX)Mike Honda(D-CA)Jay Inslee(D-WA)Darrell Issa(R-CA)Jesse Jackson Jr(D-IL)Sheila Jackson-Lee(D-TX)Hank Johnson(D-GA)Marcy Kaptur(D-OH)Dale Kildee(D-MI)Carolyn Kilpatrick(D-MI)Mary Jo Kilroy(D-OH)Dennis Kucinich(D-OH)Rick Larsen(D-WA)Barbara Lee(D-CA)Zoe Lofgren(D-CA)Stephen Lynch(D-MA)Dan Maffei(D-NY)Edward Markey(D-MA)Jim Marshall(D-GA)Eric Massa(D-NY)Betty McCollum(D-MN)Jim McDermott(D-WA)James McGovern(D-MA)Jerry McNerney(D-CA)Mike Michaud(D-ME)George Miller(D-CA)Dennis Moore(D-KS)Gwen Moore(D-WI)Jim Moran(D-VA)Richard Neal(D-MA)James Oberstar(D-MN)John Olver(D-MA)Frank Pallone Jr(D-NJ)Bill Pascrell Jr(D-NJ)Donald Payne(D-NJ)Tom Perriello(D-VA)Chellie Pingree(D-ME)Todd Platts(R-PA)Jared Polis(D-CO)David Price(D-NC)Nick Rahall(D-WV)Charles Rangel(D-)Steve Rothman(D-NJ)Bobby Rush(D-IL)Jan Schakowsky(D-IL)Adam Schiff(D-CA)Kurt Schrader(D-OR)Joe Sestak(D-PA)Albio Sires(D-NJ)Adam Smith(D-WA)Pete Stark(D-CA)Bart Stupak(D-MI)John Tierney(D-MA)Paul Tonko(D-NY)Edolphus Towns(D-)Niki Tsongas(D-MA)Chris Van Hollen(D-MD)Nydia Velazquez(D-)Timothy Walz(D-MN)Peter Welch(D-VT)David Wu(D-OR)John Yarmuth(D-KY)

More info

For more information, Click Here to visit this measure’s page at