Condemning all forms of anti-Semitism and reaffirming the support of Congress for the mandate of the Special Envoy to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism, and for other purposes

March 19, 2009
July 21, 2009
Referred to House (sub)committee

84 cosponsors.

Cites reports that in periods of heightened Arab-Israeli tension, especially during Operation Cast Lead, attacks against Jewish communities around the world and comparisons of policies of the Government of Israel to those of the Nazis have increased. Rejects attempts to rationalize Anti-Semitism as a justifiable expression of disaffection or frustration over events in the Middle East, decries the comparison of Jews to Nazis perpetrating a Holocaust or genocide as a pernicious form of anti-Semitism, and calls on leaders to speak out against manifestations of anti-Semitism that have entered the public debate about the Middle East. Urges the secy. of state to swiftly appoint a Special Envoy to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism; ensure that the State Dept.’s Annual Country Reports on Human Rights Practices continue to document anti-Semitic incidents; provide training to U.S. embassy personnel to analyze and report on these incidents; ensure that U.S. efforts to train law enforcement personnel abroad include tools to address anti-Semitism; and to engage with the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) and support its efforts to monitor and address anti-Semitism.

See also: companion measure H. Res. 364 of 4/27/09; related measures H. R. 557 of 1/15/09, H. Res. 174 of 2/13/09, H.R. 1920 of 4/2/09, and H.R. 3231 of 7/16/09.

7/20/09 passed in Senate by unanimous consent.


Daniel Akaka(D-HI)Lamar Alexander(R-TN)John Barrasso(R-WY)Max Baucus(D -MT)Evan Bayh(D-IN)Mark Begich(D-AK)Michael Bennet(D-CO)Robert Bennett(R-UT)Jeff Bingaman(D -NM)Christopher Bond(R -MO)Barbara Boxer(D-CA)Sherrod Brown(D-OH)Sam Brownback(R-KS)Jim Bunning(R-KY)Richard Burr(R-NC)Roland Burris(D-IL)Maria Cantwell(D-WA)Ben Cardin(D-MD)Bob Casey Jr.(D-PA)Saxby Chambliss(R-GA)Thad Cochran(R-MS)Kent Conrad(D-ND)Bob Corker(R-TN)John Cornyn(R-TX)Mike Crapo(R-ID)Byron Dorgan(D-ND)Dick Durbin(D-IL)John Ensign(R-NV)Mike Enzi(R-WY)Russ Feingold(D-WI)Dianne Feinstein(D-CA)Kirsten Gillibrand(D-)Lindsey Graham(R-SC)Chuck Grassley(R -IA)Orrin Hatch(R-UT)Kay Bailey Hutchison(R-TX)James Inhofe(R-OK)Daniel Inouye(D-HI)Johnny Isakson(R-GA)Mike Johanns(R-NE)Tim Johnson(D-SD)Ted Kaufman(D-DE)Edward Kennedy(D-MA)John Kerry(D-MA)Amy Klobuchar(D-MN)Herb Kohl(D-WI)Jon Kyl(R-AZ)Mary Landrieu(D-LA)Frank Lautenberg(D-NJ)Patrick Leahy(D-VT)Joe Lieberman(I-CT)Blanche Lincoln(D-AR)Mel Martinez(R-FL)John McCain(R-AZ)Claire McCaskill(D-MO)Mitch McConnell(R-KY)Robert Menendez(D-NJ)Jeff Merkley(D-OR)Barbara Mikulski(D-MD)Lisa Murkowski(R-AK)Patty Murray(D-WA)Bill Nelson(D-FL)Ben Nelson(D-NE)Mark Pryor(D-AR)Jack Reed(D-RI)Harry Reid(D-NV)Jim Risch(R-ID)Pat Roberts(R-KS)Bernie Sanders(I-VT)Charles Schumer(D-)Jeff Sessions(R-AL)Jeanne Shaheen(D-NH)Richard Shelby(R-AL)Olympia Snowe(R-ME)Arlen Specter(R-PA)Debbie Stabenow(D-MI)John Thune(R-SD)Mark Udall(D-CO)Tom Udall(D-NM)George Voinovich(R-OH)Mark Warner(D-VA)Sheldon Whitehouse(D-RI)Roger Wicker(R-MS)Ron Wyden(D-OR)

More info

For more information, Click Here to visit this measure’s page at