Reaffirming the vital international interest in preventing Iran from acquiring a nuclear weapons capability

May 24, 2012
September 25, 2012
Referred to House (sub)committee

This measure states that the U.S. has a vital interest in preventing Iran from acquiring a nuclear weapons capability. It cites statements by Iranian leaders pledging to wipe Israel off the map and IAEA documents, which are used to prove that those same leaders are pursuing a nuclear weapons program.

This resolution was a major focus for AIPAC lobbyists. On 9/23/12, after the Senate passed the measure, AIPAC put out a press release stating that ‘AIPAC applauds the Senate for rejecting a policy of containment of an Iranian nuclear weapons capability and calling for an increase in sanctions against the world’s leading state sponsor of terror.’ In contrast, the lobbying group J Street put out (5/1/12) a policy paper on the subject that stated, ‘While reports of progress in Iranian nuclear weapons programs are . . . deeply troubling, . . . American policy going forward should use stronger sanctions and continued diplomacy to pose a stark choice for the Iranian Government. It can continue on its present path and face ever deeper international isolation or change its behavior, in particular by fulfilling its obligations under the Nuclear Non-proliferation Treaty.’

Following this bill’s introduction, 44 senators signed a letter to Pres. Obama allowing that ‘the window for diplomacy is closing’ and that he should make clear his willingness to choose a ‘credible military option.’

83 cosponsors (42R, 40D, 1I)

See also: identical measures S.A. 2346 to S. 3240 of 5/24/12 and S.A. 2365 to S. 3414 of 7/19/12, and similar measures S. Res. 380 of 2/16/12 and H. Res. 568 of 3/1/12 for more on Iran’s nuclear weapons capability.

Last major action: 9/25/12 referred to House Cmte. on Foreign Affairs (9/21/12 passed in Senate 90–1).


Daniel Akaka(D-HI)Kelly Ayotte(R-NH)John Barrasso(R-WY)Max Baucus(D -MT)Mark Begich(D-AK)Michael Bennet(D-CO)Richard Blumenthal(D-CT)Roy Blunt(R-MO)John Boozman(R-AR)Barbara Boxer(D-CA)Scott Brown(R-MA)Sherrod Brown(D-OH)Richard Burr(R-NC)Maria Cantwell(D-WA)Ben Cardin(D-MD)Tom Carper(D-DE)Bob Casey Jr.(D-PA)Saxby Chambliss(R-GA)Daniel Coats(R-IN)Tom Coburn(R-OK)Thad Cochran(R-MS)Susan Collins(R-ME)Christopher A. Coons(D-DE)Bob Corker(R-TN)John Cornyn(R-TX)Mike Crapo(R-ID)James DeMint(R-SC)Dick Durbin(D-IL)Kirsten Gillibrand(D-)Chuck Grassley(R -IA)Kay Hagan(D-NC)Orrin Hatch(R-UT)Dean Heller(R-NV)John Hoeven(R-ND)Kay Bailey Hutchison(R-TX)James Inhofe(R-OK)Daniel Inouye(D-HI)Johnny Isakson(R-GA)Mike Johanns(R-NE)Ron Johnson(R-WI)John Kerry(D-MA)Mark Kirk(R-IL)Amy Klobuchar(D-MN)Herb Kohl(D-WI)Mary Landrieu(D-LA)Frank Lautenberg(D-NJ)Mike Lee(R-UT)Joe Lieberman(I-CT)Richard Lugar(R-IN)Joe Manchin(D-WV)John McCain(R-AZ)Claire McCaskill(D-MO)Mitch McConnell(R-KY)Robert Menendez(D-NJ)Jeff Merkley(D-OR)Barbara Mikulski(D-MD)Jerry Moran(R-KS)Lisa Murkowski(R-AK)Patty Murray(D-WA)Bill Nelson(D-FL)Ben Nelson(D-NE)Rob Portman(R-OH)Mark Pryor(D-AR)Jack Reed(D-RI)Jim Risch(R-ID)Pat Roberts(R-KS)Jay Rockefeller(D-WV)Marco Rubio(R-FL)Charles Schumer(D-)Jeff Sessions(R-AL)Jeanne Shaheen(D-NH)Richard Shelby(R-AL)Olympia Snowe(R-ME)Debbie Stabenow(D-MI)Jon Tester(D-MT)John Thune(R-SD)Pat Toomey(R-PA)Mark Udall(D-CO)David Vitter(R-LA)Mark Warner(D-VA)Sheldon Whitehouse(D-RI)Roger Wicker(R-MS)Ron Wyden(D-OR)

More info

For more information, Click Here to visit this measure’s page at

Legislation Topics